AFA Seal Home | Contact Us  
 Chapter History
 Executive Committee

Air Force Association

Air Force Association - Join Now!

Virginia Air Force Association

Mitchell Institute

AFA Breakfast Series

U.S. Air Force

Air Force Memorial

Cyber Patriot
<< Back to Events Home
19th Outstanding Enlisted Breakfast
The Chapter's 19th Annual Outstanding Enlisted Breakfast continued the tradition of honoring the "Best of the Best" of our Air Force's enlisted members in the National Capitol Region. Once again the Crystal Gateway Marriott and staff provided a super venue for the celebration. Over 150 people attended the breakfast-there was a 'sea' of AF blue uniforms: including many general officers, supervisors, co-workers, and family members. Eleven companies and organizations sponsored tables to help offset the cost of the event. We thank all those who attended and made our event a success, especially our loyal and supportive industry partners!
We also need to give special thanks to the chapter's planning team, Nick Abate, Cristina Rodriguez, and Gail Wojtowicz for putting together such a GREAT event! We also want to thank the Air Force District of Washington and in particular, Command Chief CMSgt Lew Monroe and MSgt Don Jones, for their tremendous support and partnership.
Our own VA 821st JROTC unit provided a perfect presentation of the colors and set the tone for a great event. TSgt Michael Mason from the Air Force Band sang our National Anthem and Chaplain (Maj) Donald Bretz, AFDW Chaplain, capped off our opening ceremonies with a very moving invocation.
We were honored to have Maj Gen Robert L. Smolen, AF District of Washington Commander, give the keynote address and assist in presenting awards to the nominees and winners. His remarks focused on the high quality, superb motivation, and adherence to the AF's core values by the enlisted force, especially the nominees who had clearly gone the extra mile both on and off duty. As an example of the overall quality of our enlisted force, Gen Smolen noted that over 72% of the bachelor's degrees awarded to enlisted military members of all the services are awarded to AF enlisted personnel.
SMSgt Arther Henderson served as the master of ceremonies for the awards presentations. Gen Smolen, Chapter President Gavares, and CMSgt Monroe presented each of the eighteen nominees a plaque highlighting their selection. Of the six nominees in the Airman, NCO, and Senior NCO categories, one winner was selected from each group as the recipient of a beautifully framed United States flag. A special thanks goes to CMSgt (retired) Steve McMullen for his continued labor in handcrafting such stunning awards.
This year's winners were: Airman Category: SrA Stepheny Fanning, 11th Wing; NCO Category: MSgt Terry Durbin, 79th MDW; and Senior NCO Category: SMSgt Donald Senger, HAF/ICM. Congratulations to the winners!
Another highlight of the event was presenting the chapter's $2000 Moorman Scholarship to TSgt Daniel Claffey from the 1st Helicopter Squadron. Gen (ret.) Tom Moorman, for whom the scholarship award was named, was unable to attend but sent a congratulatory letter. Lt Col Michelle Ryan, VP for Scholarships, joined Pete Gavares and Gen. Smolen in presenting the award. TSgt Claffey's accomplishments including academics, professional performance, and involvement in the community are absolutely top flight! He is well deserving of this award!
The DW Steele Memorial Chapter and the Air Force District of Washington are already looking forward to the 20th Annual OEB next March 2008!
Back to Top
Comments, questions or suggestions? Please contact the Webmaster
Last Updated: October 19, 2019